Butterbeer Cupcakes

22 Apr

Yes really.  You just read what you think you read.

I’m pretty sure I found this recipe through Tumblr.  It’s from Sunday Sweets, which is totally a blog I should look into more often.  Obviously, because it brought me this:

Disclaimer: I am not responsible for you making these and eating all of them.  You may think that butterscotch is overpowering enough that you won’t be tempted to eat a dozen.  You’re wrong.  Trust me.

I actually didn’t mean to say that originally.  I meant: these pictures are from last summer, and I have vastly improved as a photographer since then. Sorry.

Recipe time!  Algebraic!  Yeah!

Okay.  Here’s what you need to seriously rock your world into next week:

For the cupcakes:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon butter flavoring
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup cream soda
  • Cute cupcake tins.  Seriously, if you’ve got boring ones, you can just leave now.

The recipe calls for a ganache filling, but I don’t use it since I think it’s a bit overkill.  I made it with the ganache filling the first time and it was grossly sweet.  Too much for me, and I have an insane sweet tooth, trust me.

For the frosting:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1/3 cup butterscotch ganache
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon butter flavoring
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 16-oz. package powdered sugar

Since I don’t make the ganache, I just use butterscotch sauce, like the stuff you get for ice cream sundaes.

So you’ll be baking these at 350 degrees.  Pre-heat accordingly.

Cupcakes: First combine the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.  Then, cream the butter until fluffy and peaky, and then beat in the sugars until well-combined.

Then beat in the eggs one at a time, the vanilla, and the nasty butter flavoring.  That stuff is repulsive, but necessary.  It looks yellow-green, so just… avert your eyes and throw it in there.  Blergh.

Alternate adding the buttermilk, cream soda, and dry ingredients to this buttery concoction, beating until well-combined after each edition.  Fill the cupcake liners you should have for your cupcake pan and bake for 15-17 minutes.  I tend to keep vigilant watch over things and underbake them by a couple of minutes, but that’s just a personal preference.

See what I mean about the tins?  You need them.  I currently have tins with little owls on them from Sur La Table.  It makes a difference.

Now, I have pictures for the ganache, the recipe to which you can find in the link to the original recipe at the top of this post.  If you really want, you can do the filling, but I’m not going to tell you how.  That’s on you.

The ganache involves melting butterscotch chips, which is interesting.

Now for the frosting.  Oh yes.  This is what you’ve been waiting for, trust me.  This frosting is delicious.  I’m not big on heaps of frosting, but I make an exception for this recipe.

Cream the butter until fluffy.  Add in everything but the powdered sugar and beat until well-combined.  Then add the powdered sugar in one cup at a time until you reach the consistency you like.  You really can’t add too much or too little; it’s all about personal preference.

Now, frost!

These things.  Are delicious.  They changed my life.  I have a very, very fond memory of seeing Captain America this summer with all my friends and smuggling these cupcakes into the theater.  We made so many, and ate so many, my God.

These cupcakes have the potential to ruin people.

I would urge caution, but that’s not even possible, so don’t bother trying.

Considering the many ingredients these take and the seeming excess of butterscotch, they’re not very hard to make, and they’re so, so rewarding.

So you really have no excuse not to make these.  So… go.  What are you waiting for?

 

One Response to “Butterbeer Cupcakes”

  1. Jeyna Grace 22/04/2012 at 11:11 am #

    Damn… the frosting looks good even without having to taste it!

Leave a Reply

