Peach Cobbler

21 Jun

Alright, full disclaimer: I think cobbler is pretty gross.  I don’t like fruit to be mixing up with my dessert, okay?  Dessert is dessert, and fruit is something I only eat occasionally anyway. But my dad likes cobbler, and so I made him one for Father’s Day.

You have my permission to go “Awww” and make faces at the screen.

Anyway.

I will acknowledge that if you’re into fruity desserts, cobbler is an excellent one, especially for summer.  Even to me, cobbler just screams summer.  Especially when you pile it on top of a massive scoop of vanilla ice cream…  Does that sound like a cliché?  Well, maybe it is, but clichés are around because someone loved an idea or a phrase or an image so much, they just had to share it with the whole world.  Doesn’t that make clichés sound a lot nicer?  I thought so.

In any case, I hope you enjoy this cobbler more than I did, and I hope it feels like a summer-y punch to the gut when you eat it, because that is a really great feeling.

From Magnolia Bakery’s cookbook

Ingredients:

Topping:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 4 tbsp butter, softened

Filling:

  • 4 cups sliced fruit-of-your-choice, but advisedly peaches or nectarines
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • 1/3 cup unpacked brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp butter

Let’s make some topping:

Stir together the dry ingredients.  Then add the milk and the butter and beat until smooth.

I love gross process pictures, because I love the contrast between nasty lumps of ingredients and the finished dessert.  I mean, look at that goop.  Butter and milk slopped on top of a pile of flour?  Ew.  But it becomes cobbler!  How great is that?  Iconic, American cobbler…  To add to the clichés, picture perfect.

For the filling…:

Throw everything you’ve got into a saucepan.

If you’re using canned fruit, make sure you drain it.

Cook on medium heat, stirring frequently until the mixture is thick and bubbly, for about 10 minutes. Pour into an ungreased 8×8 baking dish.

Pour the topping… on top… and spread evenly.  As evenly as you can, anyway.  The topping gets pretty gummy when applied to cooked peaches.  Do your best and I’m sure it’ll be fine.

Sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar.  I feel like there should be a word for cinnamon-sugar mixture.  One concise word, I mean, because it’s such a ubiquitous topping.  I like to put it on toast, as do many folks, as well as one peaches, on cupcakes, and cobbler.  So you see, it should really have its own word.

Something that is not “cinnagur”, because that just sounds like vinegar.

You see two pans, don’t you.  Don’t fear, I’m not trying to deceive you or anything, using other people’s pictures and passing them off as my own.

Really, I’m not.

I made two cobblers because I had extra peaches.

See?

Bake for 30-40 minutes at 350 degrees, or until a cake tester comes out of the top clean.

Voilà, cobbler!

Enjoy with friends, family, or with yourself and your endless Netflix queue.  I won’t judge either which way.  But be sure to eat this with ice cream, as I mentioned, otherwise you are really missing out.

Or so I’m told.

Next up (by which I mean either tonight or tomorrow): Breakfast Buns with Streusel Glaze

Awwww yeah

Also, here is your book recommendation of the week: The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, by Haruki Murakami.

Don’t read anything about it.  Not even the blurb.  Just go to your library or bookstore or your friend who seems to have every book ever and read it.  Just… trust me.

You trust me with your desserts, right?  So trust me on this, too.  It’ll be weird and maybe a little uncomfortable, but totally, totally worth it in the end.

 

One Response to “Peach Cobbler”

  1. Cassie 21/06/2012 at 11:28 pm #

    OH MY GOSH. It looks delicious – I may have to try this! YUM YUM YUM. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

