Portobello Mushroom Egg Sandwich

27 Jun

I’m in love.

It’s true.

I’m in love, and do you want to know the object of my affections?

The smell of portobello mushrooms cooking.  Wow.  I’ve never smelled anything like it.  I’ve never had portobello mushrooms, since I only really eat mushrooms raw.  But I put these in the pan, right, and oh man.  Portobello mushrooms, which often serve as beef substitutes, have a robust, meat-y smell when they cook, like they’ve been marinated perfectly just before hitting the pan.  But there’s also a sweet undertone, a promise that you’re getting something fuller than meat.  Where beef has a sharp bite from blood, portobello mushrooms have a bold sweetness from the depths of the Earth where they grow.

Mushroom love.

So okay, there’s my love letter to portobello mushrooms.  Why was I cooking them?  Because I made a sandwich out of them.  My sandwich was inspired by this one, but so, so loosely that I’m not sure I even need to link the original recipe.

Ingredients:

  • One portobello mushroom
  • Two eggs
  • Salt to taste
  • Pepper to taste
  • Garlic salt to taste/entire container
  • Bok choy, some leaves (however many you feel you need on your sandwich; this recipe is single-serving)
  • Spring onions, some (see above)
  • Grated parmesan cheese for sprinkling on things
  • (Sorry, this is vague, yeah?)
  • Bread
  • Duh

Alright, here’s what you do:

Chop the bok choy and onions into little bits, and the mushroom into larger pieces.

This is bok choy:

Throw all of that into a pan with about 1 tbsp of butter and cook on medium heat.

When the mushrooms are cooked halfway through, pour the eggs into the pan.  You can fry them if you like, or make them into mini-omelette-type things, like I did.  It depends on how you like your eggs.

The mushrooms should be cooked through now, so drop them onto the egg here.

Mine got everywhere because I am lame and spill food everywhere.

Mmm, yes.

In other news, I’m watching this show on Netflix called Commander In Chief, which is about a female Vice President who succeeds the President when he dies.  It only lasted a season on ABC, and yeah okay, it’s not an extremely quality show.  But I am seriously enjoying it.  Every night for a few days now I’ve been watching this show, because I am a Massive Dork when it comes to American political shows/movies.  I don’t even know why, because I study international relations.  But I am really digging this show.

Okay, that’s all.

I’m trying to figure out what that blue thing is in the background.  I don’t know…

But final verdict on my first Cooked Mushroom Experiment: delicious.  The egg (with a lot of salt, because I salt the hell out of everything) complements the mushroom very well.  And then the handful of onions give the whole thing a crisp tanginess.  Lovely.

 

4 Responses to “Portobello Mushroom Egg Sandwich”

  1. Cassie 27/06/2012 at 10:21 pm #

    I’m a vegetarian so this is perfect. I will have to go through your site obsessively for all your great recipes.

    • thedancingtoast 27/06/2012 at 10:29 pm #

      Haha, thank you! And you’re in luck, ’cause I’ve been experimenting with tofu and vegetables, since I’m utterly hopeless at cooking meat.

      • Cassie 27/06/2012 at 10:58 pm #

        I think I could eat meat if someone else cooked it and it was free range, but I’m so weird about cooking meat. The raw meat just creeps me out – especially the feel of chicken. BAH! I’m more concerned about cooking meals for just me when I move. I guess I’ll be doing a lot of leftovers.

      • thedancingtoast 27/06/2012 at 11:16 pm #

        Ah yeah, well that’s understandable. I can NEVER get chicken right, because I’m always afraid of undercooking it, but I like my steak rare, so maybe I’ll try that one of these days… Definitely nothing wrong with leftovers. I love the idea that you can make something on Sunday and eat it until Thursday. That’s so awesome.

Leave a Reply

