How to Make Pumpkin Purée from the Squash Itself

18 Oct

So I had this idea, and it was probably at 2 am or something equally ridiculous, that I would make pumpkin pie from scratch.  I went out and bought a pumpkin.  You’re supposed to use a pie pumpkin, which is smaller and has a higher sugar content.  I couldn’t find anyone, so I got a regular one and it turned out fine:

 

How cool are those pants, first of all?  Very.

Second of all, if you, too, bought yourself a pumpkin with the aim of turning it into pie, here is how you proceed:

First, cut the top off as though you were carving a jack o’ lantern.

 

Then scoop out the guts.  Save the seeds so you can roast them in every seasoning that you have in your cabinet with enough salt to make your tongue swell up.  That’s what my roommate and I did anyway…

 

Place the pumpkins cut-side down on baking pans lined with tin foil.  Pumpkins ooze when they bake, so you’ll save yourself a lot of cleaning up this way.  Also, to prevent burning the skin make a tinfoil tent to go over the pumpkins.  I had no tinfoil so I did neither of things, but do as I say, not as I do.

 

Bake at 450 degrees for 1 1/2-2 hours.  You should be able to stick a fork into the pumpkin pretty easily by the time its done.

Then, scrape out the innards.

 

So that’s all the pulp.  You should leave the skin and any burned bits out, obviously.

 

Do not eat this.

Okay, now do some preliminary mashing before you put this stuff through a food processor.

 

You could do this with a spoon, a potato masher, or various other pulverizing implements.  I just stuck my hands in there and squished.  It’s the kind of person I am.

Put that into your food processor to make sure it’s totally smooth.  You don’t want chunks in your pie after all.

It should look like this when you’re done–pretty much what you would find in a can.  I usually store it in the fridge overnight so it can absorb some of the juices.  Any remaining liquid can be strained out with a sieve.  And then you’re golden.

Fun fact: my food processor is secretly a bean grinder (but my bean grinder is just a bean grinder; I found a second bean grinder in the apartment when I moved in), so I had to spoon in a little bit of pumpkin chunk at a time.  Pumpkin was everywhere.  It oozed out the grinder, it splattered on the microwave and toaster, it got all over my hands…  Maybe I should be a real blender, or something?  Possibly?

Now that you have purée, you can head over to one of my many pumpkin-related recipes and get baking.

 

2 Responses to “How to Make Pumpkin Purée from the Squash Itself”

  1. Rebecca LeFever 18/10/2012 at 8:53 pm #

    One of my coworkers makes her own pumpkin puree and puts it in everything.

    • thedancingtoast 20/10/2012 at 10:48 pm #

      That’s good to know! Because I definitely have enough to put in everything…

Leave a Reply

