Pumpkin Pie Poptarts

22 Oct

On the eve (okay, evening) of the final presidential debate, I have a paper on the possible need for a World Environmental Organization that I am pointedly not doing, and 14 tabs open in this browser window full of political stories, charts and graphs, food blogs, and other things I have since lost track of.  It is very stormy out today, with bright yellow leaves raining down and sticking to everything, and the end of every sidewalk disappearing into its own jump-across-able ocean.  The tips of my fingers ache from violin.  I’m wearing an I <3 Bees pin and turquoise stockings.  Things are okay.

But do you know what’s better than okay?  These pumpkin pie poptarts.  Everyone who had one–including me–went, “Whoaa… oh my god!” when they tried these.  I wrapped some up and gave them to a friend for her birthday.  I received an enthusiastic text an hour later.

These things are gold, okay.  Wow.

They are also heaps of fun to make because they’re very hands-on–a lot of kneading, cutting, filling, crimping… This is why I love dough.  I love to set aside the utensils and implements and work with my hands.

The recipe, to change things up, comes from Joy the Baker, and includes a delicious maple glaze.

Ingredients:

For the crust:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks butter, cold, cut into cubes
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 large egg (for brushing dough)

For the filling:

  • 3/4 cup pumpkin purée
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar

For the glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp milk

Now, to make the delicious, buttery, fluffy crust:

Combine the flour, sugar, and salt.

Add the butter and combine with a food processor or by hand.

I did this by hand but, as I mentioned, I like to just… get in there.

Maybe that’s just me.  Also my food processor can hold about 1/3 cup at a time…

It should look sort of like this.  Now whisk together the egg and the milk and throw it into the flour mixture, stirring until the egg has soaked completely into the flour.

On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough until it holds together and all the ingredients are really integrated.

Divide the dough in half, wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for half an hour.

While that’s going down, prepare the filling.

In a small saucepan, heat the pumpkin with the spices.  Joy says that this draws out the spices, and I believe her.  I pretty much trust her implicitly…

Put the pumpkin in a small bowl and add the rest of the ingredients.

Stir until combined.  Now trade the pumpkin for the dough.

Take on dough ball and press it into a rectangle.

Roll it out until it’s about 1/8 inch thick.

Trim the dough so that it’s a neat little rectangle, and divide it into nine smaller rectangles.

Refrigerate while you repeat the process with the second ball.

Then, take one batch of nine and brush one side with egg.

Drop some filling onto each buttered square.

Top with another pastry square and crimp closed with a fork.  It’s okay if some filling oozes out.

Poke some holes in the top for ventilation and allow to rest in the fridge for another half hour.

In the meantime, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown.

While they bake prepare the glaze by whipping all the ingredients together.

These tarts are best when drenched in glaze, but don’t take my word for it. Do it.

After baking, consume as soon as you are sure you will not scald your esophagus.

 

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Poptarts”

  1. Lauren 23/10/2012 at 12:00 am #

    I appreciate the thoroughness of the post! These look yummy and nice bright photos!

    Lauren

    • thedancingtoast 23/10/2012 at 12:24 am #

      Oh, thank you! I’m very happy to hear that my epic rambling is sensible!

  2. suecarroll1 23/10/2012 at 12:37 am #

    Kate, you have many gifts…Love your writing and pics… your blog is really great! Combining your flair for knowledge, writing, photography and cooking…what a perfect avenue to combine them:)
    I think I must try your delicious pumpkin pop tarts! Sending love, Aunt Sue:)

    • thedancingtoast 25/10/2012 at 7:53 pm #

      Thank you so much! It means so much to me to here things like this! They would be well worth it, trust me.

Leave a Reply

