Stuffed Artichokes

11 Nov

I am obsessed with artichokes.  I have been since before I ever ate one purely for aesthetic reasons.  What a good-looking, interesting vegetable.  I especially love that they are one of the few edible things in the world that have hearts.

I love that.  Artichoke hearts.  How wonderful.

What is also wonderful is the supreme ease of this recipe.

From the Tucci cookbook yet again, adapted slightly because I had no cheese like a total loser.  (Why is cheese expensive???)  Also adapted slightly because I made two artichokes instead of four.

Ingredients:

  • Two artichokes with the stems and tops cut off, and the spiny bits on the end of the leaves snipped away
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped finely
  • 1 quarter red onion, chopped finely (you can use more or less depending on your onion fondness)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salsa (optional, but I find this taste really good dipped in salsa)

Recipe:

 

Stick your artichokes in a small pot and fill with water to 1/4 inch below the tops.  Cover, bring to a boil, and simmer for about twenty minutes, or until a leaf pulls away easily. Don’t overcook them or they’ll fall apart.

In the meantime, mix the bread crumbs, onion, and garlic together.  If you want, you can mix in two tsp of grated cheese as well.  I didn’t have cheese.  I have some now, but it’s reserved specifically for kick-ass sandwiches so.

Take the artichokes out of the water and turn them upside down so they can drain.

When they’ve cooled down, sprinkle the crumb mixture by the teaspoonful into the leaves, spreading them slightly to get the bread-y goodness in there.

Drizzle the artichokes with a tablespoon of olive oil each before placing them in a pan with about 1 inch of water in it.  Cover them with tinfoil so they don’t char and bake for thirty minutes.

The book says to then check on them, add more water if necessary, and then bake again for fifteen minutes.  I found that the water was a little too much and made the bread crumbs in the outermost leaves a little soggy, so do what looks right to you regardless of what the recipe says.  When you take the artichokes out, they should be lightly browned.

 

 

I would recommend stuffing your chokes way more liberally than I did.  Mine were delicious, but seriously, go overboard.  This recipe can definitely take it.

 

And in the background, an upcoming recipe!  Hopefully soon, but I have no fewer than four final papers to write at the mo, three of which as serious research papers.

So you know.  Fingers crossed.

 

Can I just tell you, though, how happy I am that the election is over?  I am the first to admit that I became a huge election junkie for three long months… but I am so happy to go back to studying international relations.  I never thought I’d say it, but global politics is so much less stressful.  Go figure.

 

I swear to god, I will recommend this book I keep not-telling you about next time, but for now, you should definitely read A Pale View of the Hills by Kazuo Ishiguro.  This guy is the one responsible for Never Let Me Go, which traumatized me.  It was so beautiful. Because Ishiguro writes these horrible, sad stories about individual people who are victims of some even more horrible circumstance.

In this case, he writes about two woman living in Nagasaki (I think I think) in the weeks after the atom bomb was dropped.  The book will make you think about the atom bomb as an abstract concept and a historical event, and in that sense it is a commentary on nuclear weapons.  But… not really.  It is simply a story about these two women.  (In fact, it might be a story about one woman, with the point of view split between a past self and a present self.  I’ll let you figure that one out.)  Just like Never Let Me Go was about a life-long love triangle, the story was sharpened to greater poignancy by making the characters clones whose main purpose in life is to serve as organ donors.  The circumstances inform the power of the story, and the story provides an indirect commentary on some greater political, ethical theme.

It sounds complicated, I know.  You’ve probably noticed that I tend to read complicated books that I most often describe as “terrifying”.  It’s not a difficult read, though.  It’s a very short book, and I actually finished it in a couple of hours sitting in the library.  This recommendation got way longer than I intended it to be, so I will leave you with this for now.  Next time, muffins and more books about China.  Story of my life.

Leave a Reply

