Orecchiette and Asparagus

2 Mar

It’s been a great week for movies.  I started a new research paper on the art by Japanese victims of the atomic bombings, so I went to pick up some book from my professor published by the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum.  She’s such a nice woman, and it was the first time I had seen her outside of class, so we talked for a bit and eventually hit on the fact that we both love the shit out of movies.  Her more than me, I think. But she got really excited, and asked if I had been to all these different theaters around Chicago, which… shamefully I had not.  But we talked about a movie she had mentioned in class, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter… and Spring, and Pedro Almodovar’s movies, which we both love.

Screen shot 2013-03-02 at 5.33.20 PM

And so I looked up all the theaters she mentioned, and today went to see Like Someone in Love at the Music Box Theater.  It;s such a gorgeous place, and I can’t believe it took me so long to get there!  It’s an old-fashioned theater with a red velvet curtain, gilt everything, molded walls and ceilings, and an organ that sometimes accompanies the movies.  What a fantastic experience.

Screen shot 2013-03-02 at 5.33.28 PM

Yesterday, also, I went to the movies to see Stoker, which was beyond phenomenal… It has limited release, and luckily it’s playing at our closest and favorite theater in this weird little mall.  I can’t even talk about that movie because it was so weird and wonderful, but if it’s playing near you, you should definitely go.

Finally, tonight we’re having a little get-together with movies and 2 ingredient pancakes with a recipe from the divine Top With Cinnamon.

Like I said… I good week for movies.  And in general.  Life’s been good, you know?

DSC_0245

Okay, so, last weekend I made this pasta, adapted from a recipe by Happy Yolks.  The original recipe calls for Jerusalem artichokes, which I could not find, so I used asparagus.

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz orecchiette, or other pasta (but why would you pick another pasta?)
  • 1 lb asparagus
  • 1 lemon
  • pat of butter
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Recipe:

First, wash and slice your asparagus.

DSC_0247

 

Now, Happy Yolks says to throw these in a steaming basket for 5-10 minutes, but I did not have this silly single-purpose tool.  I actually didn’t know what it was until I googled it and was like, “Oh, the dim sum wooden tower things”.  So I googled some more (TGIG).  I filled a soup pot with a couple of inches of water and put a sieve over the top, in which I put the asparagus.  Cover that with a lid and turn the heat up high on the stove.

DSC_0249

 

So it looks like this before you put the lid on.  The idea is to steam the vegetables without getting them wet, hence the suspension-sieve.

In the meantime, boil some water for the pasta.

DSC_0252

Put the butter and some olive oil in a sauce pan and sauté the asparagus for 10-15 minutes so that they’re nice and cooked but still a little crunchy.  Cook the pasta for however long it says on the box.

DSC_0256

 

 

Drain the pasta and toss into a large bowl.  Add the asparagus and mix together.  Squeeze out the lemon over all of this deliciousness and season with salt and pepper to taste.

DSC_0261

 

It makes quite a lot so you can serve this for a number of people at dinner or just eat it yourself for a whole week…

(Fun fact: I did not spell asparagus correctly on the first try even once in this whole post.  Except that time.)

 

Unfortunately, I am between books right now.  I finished Tokyo Vice and cast about for something else to read, but haven;t hit on anything that’s really sucked me in.  So I got nothing for you, but here are some movies I have either enjoyed recently or that have been highly recommended:

  • Stoker
  • Hiroshima Mon Amour
  • The Great Happiness Space
  • Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter… and Spring
  • anything by Pedro Almodovar
  • City of God
  • Like Someone in Love
  • The Namesake
  • Winter’s Bone
Leave a Reply

