Taro Chips

11 Mar

I am taking a break from various and sundry academic tasks to bring you this lovely recipe.  This is more for my benefit than yours, to be honest.  I spent the last hour and a half on a take-home exam trying to figure write in as many Downton Abbey references as possible.  After this, back to Japanese investment in China.

I don’t know how familiar you are with taro, but I know how familiar you should be: very.  It’s this little potato-type thing, usually used in Southeast Asian and Hawaiian food as a staple similar to rice.  It’s also used in desserts, like taro flavored bubble tea or popsicles, one of which I’ve had recently and the other of which hangs out in my freezer regularly.  I love taro.  It’s hard to describe its flavor when used in a dessert.

DSC_0250

Sweet, but not cloyingly sugary.  Fruity, but not tangy.  Full and robust, but with very subtle aftertastes of something indescribably excellent.  As a root, it’s also pretty good.  I found out recently that taro chips are a thing and that taro is $1.99 a pound at Whole Foods, and… it was pretty obvious what had to happen.  I found a recipe on Chowhound and so here you go!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound taro
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

How to:

Peel and wash the wee tubers.

DSC_0256

 

I got a new peeler just for the occasion, and isn’t it adorable?

Slice the taro very, very thinly.  How thinly?  Like a chip.  I would aim for pita chip rather than potato chip unless you have some mad knife skills.  I for one am a complete loser when it comes to cutting and chopping, so my chips were kind of thick and also not remotely uniform.  It’s all good.

DSC_0263

 

Also, a warning?  These ooze a really sticky substance that’s sort of a pain, so you’ll have to wash your hands a couple of times, and maybe run the roots under cold water every once in a while, patting them dry for easier handling.

Then, lay all your slices out on a slightly oiled sheet.  Brush them with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

DSC_0265

 

Bake at 400 degrees for about ten minutes, but be extra vigilant if you slice them very thin or if you slice them unevenly.  I actually just stood in front of my oven and checked every couple of minutes, picking out the ones that were done off the sheet.  It sounds like a pain, but it really doesn’t take long.

taro 2

 

And so.  They’re delicious and healthy (baked!), and super cheap to make, so really there’s no reason not to make these unless you can’t find taro.  And then… I’m sorry.  Because that probably means you live in the middle of nowhere.  Condolences.

taro 1

 

 

So I know I’ve recommended Jhumpa Lahiri before, but I just finished Unaccustomed Earth, which I actually liked a lot better than Interpreter of Maladies.  Basically, if you haven’t read her yet you need to get on this, because you are missing out big time.  Unaccustomed Earth is another book of short stories, and it took me maybe a couple of days to read.  I only wish I had savored it more, so don’t be like me and take your time with this book.

2 Responses to “Taro Chips”

  1. The Peckish Kiwi 22/03/2013 at 6:49 am #

    The new peeler is more adorable than a puppy giving a little chick a piggy back ride. Chips look delicious, it would indeed suck to live in the middle of nowhere and not have any taro available, especially after seeing your pictures.

    • thedancingtoast 23/03/2013 at 3:15 am #

      Haha, isn’t it? I love it. It so would. I don’t want to live in a place with no taro. What a very sad place indeed. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

