Spinach and Cheddar Quiche

24 Jun

I don’t know if you head, but this weekend there was a super moon.  Of course, I saw some news about it during the week and started planning and getting excited to go and take pictures and then I completely forgot about it until last night when I was driving with a friend back into the city and happened to see it in all its ginormous glory floating over the highway.

944129_10201382037734198_2008425058_n

 

By the time I got to it it was looking less super, but whatever, I had a lovely night by the lake admiring the city and the moon.

Speaking of lovely, this quiche?  Tremendously so.

DSC_0029

(And that was definitely a smooth transition…)

I combined two recipes, taking the crust and substance from one and the flavor from another.  So the crust and the egg-milk mixture came from Mehan’s Kitchen because her recipe didn’t call for a dozen damn dairy products (dairy is expensive!) while the flavoring and the whole idea for making quiche came from the really lovely blog, A Cozy Kitchen.  Don’t ask me why I used two recipes when I could have just tweaked one.  I wasn’t employing basic reasoning at the time.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 stick of butter, cold and cubed
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • a few teaspoons of olive oil
  • 3 handfuls (or more) of spinach
  • 1/2 cup cubed cheese (I used cheddar because it was cheap, but gruyère melts better; you could use any sharp cheese though)
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/3 cup milk

Recipe:

In a medium-sized bowl, combine the butter and flour, mashing them together with your fingers until small crumbs form.

Pour in the water and knead until everything comes together.  I had to dump a couple of extra tablespoons of flour so the dough wasn’t too wet.  It should be tacky but shouldn’t stick to everything and get scummy.  Form the dough into a disc, wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat the olive oil until simmering and throw in the spinach, cooking until wilted.

DSC_0002

 

Is anyone else amazed by how much spinach shrinks when you cook it?  I kept adding spinach because I didn’t think I would have enough…

Drain and set aside.

Roll out the dough until it’s a bit bigger than your pie tin and lay it in, pressing it into the pan so it’s snug.

DSC_0012

 

Throw in the spinach…

DSC_0014

 

 

and the cheese.

DSC_0018

 

Then, whisk together the milk and eggs and pour that in, too.

DSC_0023

 

Bake at 350 for 40 minutes to an hour, or until the top is golden-brown and crispy and a tester comes out clean.

DSC_0027

 

I don’t why I ended up with a giant blob of egg white.  Oh well.  This thing is so, so delicious that I don’t even care.  Also, this keeps for at least a week if you wrap it in tin foil and refrigerate it, and it tastes just as good microwaved as hot out of the oven.

DSC_0038

Leave a Reply

