Pancakes

30 Jun

I am very surprised I’ve never posted a pancake recipe here.  Especially considering I eat them constantly (except for this week when I had crêpes three days in a row… that will come later).  I used to use a recipe from Joy the Baker (which is divine), but I found one that takes fewer ingredients.  It’s supposed to be a coffee pancake recipe from A Cozy Kitchen, but the coffee part comes from instant coffee crystals which I obviously refuse to have in my apartment.  Her notes said that she tried throwing in brewed espresso and it was too watery, so I just forewent the coffee altogether.

DSC_0344

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • chocolate chips (optional)

Recipe:

Do you see how simple that is?  How little you need?  I love this recipe.  It’s so dangerous.

DSC_0342

Heat the oven up to the lowest temperature you can (mine only goes as low as 200).  In a large bowl, whisk together all the dry ingredients.  In a small bowl, whisk together the egg and milk.  Combine the two and whisk until just combined.  Stir in the chocolate chips if you have them.

In a large, buttered skillet over medium-high heat, cook the pancakes for a couple of minutes on each side, transferring them to the oven to stay warm.  Serve with whatever.  I usually stack mine with layers of fruit and/or chocolate sauce because I’m too cheap to buy good syrup and too snobby to eat cheap syrup.

DSC_0022

 

I finished Absolution yesterday and am casting about for something to read next, so I’m afraid I have nothing for you.  Although I did read a book called Bad Marie, by Marcy Dermansky, that was pretty good, so maybe check that out.

2 Responses to “Pancakes”

  1. The Wayfaring Baker 30/06/2013 at 1:56 pm #

    Pancakes are dangerous things… I would eat them everyday if I could. Have you tried using coffee-chicory essence if you don’t use instant? Same flavour but not as runny :)

    • thedancingtoast 01/07/2013 at 10:21 am #

      Ooh, no I haven’t tried using that. I haven’t even heard of it, but I’ll look out for it. That sounds like a much better alternative; my main objection to instant is that it’s disgusting so obviously I don’t own it, but that sounds good!

Leave a Reply

