Coconut Rice

21 Jun

So I have a confession about this recipe, and it’s sort of awful.

It’s a great recipe.  It’s adapted from Joy the Baker, so of course it’s great.  The woman can do no wrong.

DSC_0154

 

(These pictures have nothing to do with anything, I’m just quite proud of them.)

This rice is just too rich for me.  The first bowl I had was awesome and now the thought of it makes me nauseous.  I know objectively that it’s really delicious, but I think the coconut milk is too much for me.  So, lesson learned.  But I still recommend this recipe!  Hence this post.

DSC_0164

I’ve been trying to eat all of this rice (it makes a lot!) by frying it with a fuck ton of soy sauce and kimchi, but you shouldn’t need to do that because it is actually quite delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped finely
  • 1/4 tsp chili pepper powder (or a chili pepper, finely chopped)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 6 cups rice, cooked (I used brown jasmine)
  • 1 cup toasted coconut (I used those coconut chips you can get at TJ’s)
  • 1/2 cup bok choy, chopped
  • zest and juice from a lime

Recipe:

DSC_0080

In a large-ish saucepan, heat the oil until simmering and then toss in the onions.  Cook them until they begin to brown.  Add the spices and cook for another 2 minutes.  Pour in the coconut milk and stir until everything’s well-coated.

DSC_0083

 

Reduce heat and stir in the rice, mixing until everything comes together.  Add the bok choy, lime zest and juice, and toasted coconut.

DSC_0087Toss together and cook until the coconut milk is absorbed.

DSC_0094

 

So the original recipe is actually for coconut crab rice, but I can’t afford crab, so this particular incarnation would work well as a side or with some fried tofu or steamed broccoli on top.

DSC_0213

 

(gratuitous pictures of my vacation thus far; you should probably be jealous)

I haven’t read anything for days (it feels like weeks; I’ve only been out of school for one week) and am not really feeling any of the books I picked up, so I’m just going to go ahead and recommend the TV show Suits.  It’s on network TV (when did network TV start doing amazing shows??  Seriously, I am impressed.)  Suits is a lawyer show, but it’s less about legal drama than about the characters.  The dynamic between all the characters is really well done, and the whole show is very well written in a subtle kind of way.  It’s not flashy and suave and impressive like Sherlock, Hannibal or Game of Thrones, but it’s just damn good.  Also, hello, it’s called Suits, so at least half the reason to watch it is the eyecandy.  Also also, one of the main characters is smoking hot and his characters owns it.  (I care about the plot.  I do.  I love lawyer shows.)  There is, in summation, no reason you should not watch this.

Leave a comment